kroton.blogg.se

Cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting
Cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting








LCD Display is very bright and not dimmable enough also not self-dimming Smaller footprint than the other 2 radios

CAMBRIDGE SOUNDWORKS RADIO CD 740 TROUBLESHOOTING MANUAL

Alarm clock functions are the same as the other 2 radios.īattery Backup for alarm and settings easily replacedĪlarm works when on battery power (maybe? manual does not say) Display is a hybrid LCD/AsciI LCD display. The Teac has built in EQ presets but as far as I can tell no other tone control. The unit has 2 speakers that are about the same size as the bose and two rear firing “bass” ports. Sound quality is better than the Cambridge but not quite as good as the bose. I do have an IPOD someone gave me but probably won’t use it. This unit does not have CD player but it does have an IPOD dock. My local 70’s station went 80’s and moved the 70’s stuff to HD channel 3. I got it because it has a built in HD decoder and I was able to clear off a lot of excess equipment from my night stand because of this. I didn’t really like the larger footprint Settings backup battery replacement requires complete disassembly of the unitĭisplay replacement or repair requires complete disassembly of the unit Probably needs a complete recap (all the electrolytics in mine had very high ESR) Is a bit of a nightmare to disassemble and work on. Internal (line cord) or external FM antennaĢ battery backups one for the alarm and one for settingsĭisplay backlight fails, can be fixed or replaced (I have part numbers)Īlarm activates at whatever volume you set it for (no ramp up) Mine had a dead settings battery which I replaced with a MUCH larger one and placed in a easier to get to location.ģ stereo modes, Narrow, wide, and mono (can be configured for each channel preset) The main reason people seem to be getting rid of theirs is that the display backlights are failing which renders the device mostly useless as an alarm clock. The CD player can play mp3 files as well, but has problems with oddball bitrates. It has a lighted ascii LED display and the same features as the bose alarm clock. The Cambridge 10% larger footprint than the bose and about 20% taller. Luckily the Cambridge has an EQ and the ability to adjust treble and bass so I could get the majority of the bass distortion fixed. This might be aggravated by modern radio stations boosting bass or something else I am not quite sure of, but whatever the reason mine could not handle any amount of bass. I was expecting similar sound quality as the bose as the Cambridge has a down firing 3” “woofer” I found that was not the case when listening to anything with any amount of bass the “woofer” seemed overwhelmed and clipped or became distorted. I had high hopes for this one as it had a working CD player and line in. I recently got and refurbished one of these. Line in (appears to me) to sidestep the bose EQ The bottom has fallen out of the used bose radio market they can be bought for a fraction of what they could 5 years agoĮarly models have issues with traces coming up on circuit boardĪmplifier is always on but muted when “off”ĬD mechanism is available but cost about $35 from ebay way more from other sources Replacement Amp chip is readily available Good reception of local FM without antenna A volume setting of 50 is about as high as you can go without activating compression the radio will go up to 99 which is way louder than most people would ever listen to.īright clear VFD display variable with room light bose use an amplifier that prevents clipping using compression so it’s very difficult to get distortion at high volumes. Typical bose sound with that old school “loudness” profile you get from stereo’s from the 70’s.

cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting

In my case the CD did not work but I really wasn’t going to use it anyways. I’ve used 2 models the original and the First CD version. I used them all primarily as my nightstand radio/alarm clock. Occasionally listening to HD radio through the line in on the bose and Cambridge. I mostly listened to classical and 70’s music.

cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting

Teac HD-1 stereo alarm clock HD radio and Ipod sound dock Cambridge Soundworks CD-740 (Creative labs version)








Cambridge soundworks radio cd 740 troubleshooting